Input Dataset

NT 2008 Land Use Mapping Program (LUMP)

This polygon spatial dataset provides information on the land use boundaries for the Northern Territory. This dataset was created from several other datasets and expert knowledge. It is the first Territory-wide land use dataset based upon the Australian Land Use and Management (ALUM) Classification (version 6).

Mapping was carried out in accordance with "Land Use Mapping at Catchment Scale: Principles, Procedures and Definitions (Edition 3)" (BRS, 2006). Land use boundaries were created from local knowledge, aerial photographs, satellite imagery, ancillary datasets and fieldwork. The Northern Territory was mapped at three different scales, depending upon the intensity of land use and the resolution needed by likely clients of this dataset. The Peri-urban Intensive Agricultural and Urban Zones around Darwin, Katherine and Alice Springs were mapped at 1:25,000; the Northern Agricultural Zone mostly comprising the Katherine-Daly Region was mapped at 1:100,000; whilst the Pastoral Zone and the remainder of the Northern Territory was mapped at a scale of 1:250,000. For mapping of the Peri-urban Intensive Agricultural Zone 2 additional land use code fields (Luc_2 and Luc_3) were used to record multiple land uses and attributed using ALUMC Version 6. A proportional value of the areal extent for each land use is included in a separate field. Significant natural and man-made water bodies (lakes and reservoirs) greater than the minimum mapping unit (5625m2) from the AUSLIG Geodata Topo-250K Series 3 were incorporated.

Funding Support

Access Mechanisms

NR Maps, FTP, Email

Dataset Lineage

The NT Digital Cadastre was obtained from NTLIS as Arc/Info coverage in GDA94 on 5/12/2001. Horizontal positional accuracy was determined by 10 survey control points in the Darwin, Casuarina, Palmerston, Humpty Doo and Alice Springs areas - accuracy of the cadastre was within 0.25 secs of arc for all survey points. The dataset was divided into two zones along longitude 132 degrees and reprojected into MGA Zones 52 and 53. The Zone 52 coverage was then clipped into 8 coverages for mapping. 6 coverages based on the Auslig 1:100,000 series topographic maps of Darwin (5073), Koolpinyah (5173), Mary River (5272), Fog Bay (4972), Bynoe (5072), Noonamah (5172) for mapping at 1:25,000. The Northern Agricultural Zone mostly comprising the Douglas Daly Basin was clipped from the MGA94-52 and 53 coverages to include all or part of the following Auslig 1:250,000 scale topographic map sheets - Katherine (SD53-09), Pine Creek (SD52-08), Cape Scott (SD52-07) & Fergusson River (SD52-12). The rest of the Territory was mapped as two coverages at 1:250,000. The Peri-urban Intensive Agricultural Zones covering parts of the Katherine (5369), Manbulloo (5368) and Alice Springs (5659) topographic map sheets were not clipped from the larger covers. The latest scanned digital aerial photographs were obtained and were ortho-rectified using the NT cadastre and a generated DEM, later mosaic in ER Mapper 6.2. RMS errors were less than 5m. Throughout the project area the Australian Greenhouse Office Year 2000 mosaic of Landsat 7 ETM imagery was utilised where aerial photography was not available. On 6/11/2006 another copy of the NT Digital Cadastre was downloaded from the Spatial Database as shape file in GDA94. The original land use datasets from 1994 was combined with this updated cadastre and changes in the new cadastre were located and edited and spatially corrected. Attribute information was also updated based on ALUMC Version 6.

Access and Licensing

Identified Mandate


Content Source