Input Dataset

SA Counties

The County layer is a derived data set from the Hundred layer, using the County field within the Hundred layer data to merge the Hundred polygons into the relevant County polygons.The state was initially divided into Counties and subdivided into areas called Hundreds. There are 49 Counties and 633 Hundreds (includes out of hundreds and islands) within the State, in which each are identified by an unique name and number.

Dataset Purpose

Provide the spatial extent of all counties in South Australia.

Funding Support

Dataset Lineage

Captured from the digitsing of the Hundred boundaries, then amalgamated into the County areas.

Access and Licensing

Identified Mandate


Content Source