Input Dataset

ABS ASGS Australia Boundary


Australia (AUS) within the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS), represents the geographic extent of Australia. This is set out in section 2B of the Acts Interpretation Act 1901, which currently defines Australia or the Commonwealth as meaning:

'...the Commonwealth of Australia and, when used in a geographical sense, includes Norfolk Island, the Territory of Christmas Island and the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands, but does not include any other external Territory'.

Prior to 2016 Norfolk Island was not included in the ASGS. However, in line with Australian Government announced reforms to the governance of Norfolk Island and its inclusion into the definition of Geographic Australia, the Territory of Norfolk Island was included in the edition of the ASGS used for the 2016 Census of Population and Housing.

Access and Licensing

Identified Mandate


Content Source